Our People

Today, Fire Service Credit Union is still run by firefighters. The majority of our Board of Directors, including the Chairman, are operational firefighters elected by you, the members. Your share gives you those voting entitlements, as a part owner.

Board of Directors


Paul Fletcher, Board Chairman

Appointed to the Board March 2011 – Appointed Chairman October 2015

Paul was born in England where he did his formative education joining the Merchant Navy where he served six years as an Engineering Officer. After emigrating to Australia in 1981, Paul has served over 33 years within the South Australian Metropolitan Fire Service and retired as the Deputy Chief Officer. Paul has a Masters Degree in Leadership and Management and is a Graduate of the Institute of Fire Engineers and continues to be active with various professional development initiatives. Paul is married with two daughters and has three grandchildren; he enjoys motorcycle riding and sea fishing.

Former Deputy Chief Officer

Jeffrey Swann, Board Deputy Chairman, Remuneration Committee Chariman

Appointed to the Board in March 2011

Jeff is a current member of the Audit Committee, the Remuneration Committee and deputy Chairman since October 2015. Jeff’s career path started in the Automotive Industry as a mechanic, he proceeded through sales and marketing positions to becoming Managing director for over 20 years. Jeff has a diverse background and experience in a variety of industries including, small business, automotive services, education and public safety. Jeff holds a Cert4 in management and a Diploma of Business Management.  Jeff is currently Deputy Chief Officer with the South Australian Metropolitan Fire Service.


Eugene Holzbauer, Director, Audit Committee Chairman

Appointed to the Board March 2007

Eugene has spent the last 30 years working in taxation and business services and currently runs his own accounting practice specializing in small to medium business tax planning. Eugene has a Bachelors Degree in Accountancy and became a Chartered Accountant through the Institute of Chartered Accountants in Australia and New Zealand in 1995. Eugene is also a licenced SMSF auditor and tax agent.

Alex Karpetian, Board Director

Appointed to the Board December 2013

Alex has a diverse background in a variety of industries including, banking and finance, local and federal government, mining and oil and gas. He has extensive risk management, corporate finance and budget experience. Alex is a Manager, Health Portfolio Budgets at SA Health and operates an educational website. Alex has a Bachelor of Finance from the University of Adelaide and a Graduate Certificate in Finance from Charles Sturt University.

Noel Johnson, Board Director

Appointed to the Board March 2005

Noel is a member of the Audit Committee and the Risk Committee. Noel was appointed Manager of The Fire Service Fund in July 1998, which he still holds. Noel held the position of State Executive Officer of the Australian Institute Banking and Finance, for which he was granted Life Membership of the Institute. Noel also had an extensive career in Banking for 33 years with the former State Bank of SA, then BankSA. Over this period, Noel served 25 years in Rural South Australia and completed his banking service as a senior Branch Manager. Noel is a Fellow of the Institute of Public Accountants.

Lisa Lew, Director, Risk Committee Chairman

Appointed to the Board November 2015

Lisa has been an out-posted Business Manager from the South Australian Fire and Emergency Services Commission for the past seven years with the South Australian Metropolitan Fire Service and the South Australian Country Fire Service. As Business Manager, Lisa works closely with Executive and Senior Managers to provide financial management advice, oversee quarterly reviews and manage the operating and capital budgets. Lisa is a Certified Practising Accountant (CPA) and holds a Master of Business Administration, Bachelor of Laws and Bachelor of Commerce from the University of Adelaide.

Greg Northcott, Board Director

Appointed to the Board November 2015

Adam Waller, Board Director

Appointed to the Board February 2023

Adam is a Station Officer with the Metropolitan Fire Service and educator with the University of Adelaide with experience spanning public administration, policing, and private industry. Adam is a member of the Risk Committee and a Director of the Fire Service Fund. Adam is a Graduate of the Australian Institute of Company Directors, a Member of the Australian Institute of Project Managers and holds a Master of Business Administration and Master of Project Management (Contract Management) from the University of South Australia and a Diploma of Public Safety and Cert4 in Training and Assessment.

Fire Service Credit Union Staff

Tricia Ireland – Chief Executive Officer

Judith Driscoll – Chief Financial Officer

Karen Plunkett – Risk & Compliance Manager

Maria Arena – Senior Loans Officer

Gaye McKee – Loans Officer

Kelly Plunkett – Member Service Officer

Anastasia Antoniou – Member Service Officer

Travis Middleton – Member Service Officer

Temara Grove – Member Service Officer

Michelle Dawes – Member Service Officer

Livia Bruno – Loans Officer

Be part of the Family that supports you and your family – join to share the benefits of belonging.